Sylvia's writing to freedom

Values 18/11/2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — enomis @ 22:13
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yesterday evening our daughter A. came up to us and asked us for help with her homework. Her whole class was asked to ask their parents what important values the parents would give to their children to go through live. The three of us smiled and A. didn’t react like a teenager as being ashamed of the things your parents do or say.  We gave her three values to bring to class and discuss. We said: “we want you to take responsibility for your own words and own deeds in life, we want you to consider everything equal as you and we want you to consider at all times what’s best for all. A. felt confident and wanted to talk about this in class, no reservations here.

When she came home today I asked her how it went in class with discussing the family values. Great she said, my classmates had no idea what I was talking about. My teacher, she said, understood what I was talking about. Her teacher is the teacher who claims to treat everybody equal, but favours constantly specific students. So that’s interesting to see that this teacher agrees and understand the values A. was talking about. What were the values the others wrote about, I asked? Me excluded said A., their parents wanted them to have respect for others. Well great, she said, as if that’s going to make a difference. Further there was one student who’s parents wanted her to be more motivated when it comes to school and her school career. So all that people could come up with, when asked what they wanted to pass on to their children, was having respect for others. Basically they are saying that they want their children to allow and accept the world as it is today and not to do anything about it. Isn’t that sad when you come to think of it?

I forgive myself that I’ve accepted and allowed myself to blame the teacher for speaking words, but not living her words.

I forgive myself that I’ve not accepted and allowed myself to believe the tacher when she said that she understood our values. In this I clearly felt more than her.

I forgive myself that I’ve accepted and allowed myself to participate within the polarity of more and less.

I forgive myself that I’ve accepted and allowed myself to not live my words when I feel more than the teacher I’m not one and equal to her.

I forgive myself that I’ve accepted and allowed myself to blame myself for not living my words.

 

Leave a Reply

