Sylvia's writing to freedom

OMG they are no longer my friend 14/03/2011

Yesterday while promoting my “Equality message of the week for you” Facebook page amongst my friends I missed a profile picture. As easy as people do friend you on Facebook or You Tube as easy they unfriend you. And when I looked again I saw that I was missing out on 3 persons, my aunt, my uncle and my nephew. It brought a ominous feeling over me, they silently left the room without saying why.

These things are so revealing and again pointing back at me to show me where I’m at in process. My mind started guessing right away. Don’t they like me anymore, are they fed up with my Desteni messages, will they gossip about me within the family are they going to express feelings of concern about me within my family and can I fix this.

The funny thing is that I barely know them anymore, when I think of my aunt and uncle, I think of memories. Our last physical contact was 3 years ago on a birthday party of my dad. My nephew at the funeral of another aunt around 10 years ago. I accidently stumbled upon them on the internet and connected due to the fact that they are family. Whenever other friends unfriend me I do not ask myself all these questions.

When I found my nephew on internet and connected with him on Skype we had a short chat. He asked how I was and I answered. He didn’t say anything about himself so I suggested to exchange e-mail adresses to keep in touch and gave him the url of our family blog with all the stories about immigrating to Italy. He never responded again, till my dad said: “your uncle says that you do not want to connect with your nephew anymore.” I was left in the dark and could not figure out how someone could twist words like that. I told my dad that this was more then a communication error, it was ought. I left it there at that point, I figured it would be useless and no fun when someone isn’t able to normally communicate. I saw that I was holding on to my memories, those I had from him when my 9 years younger nephew and I were quite close and meeting up at family reunions.

It was rejection that I felt with my nephew a few years ago and yesterday it was again rejection I felt when not finding them between my Facebook friends. I see that I’m taking this personal while I have no clue why they left, so it’s my ego at work here. I need to work with what is here and here is my Facebook list missing out on 3 people. Why they left only they know and if I figure that it would make a difference if I knew why I should ask. In fact I’m not even that curious about their motivations, would they tell the truth if I asked or confronted them with their unfriending, I have no idea. I see that my concern is me in a self interested way. I’m asking myself if they are going to make a fuss towards my parents. This fear is based at my recent experience with my brother-in-law who in a possessed way was alarming quite some family about our involvement in Desteni. I say involvement in Desteni, because that’s what people see, they do not see or hear what I’m saying. It feels like being judged on their idea about Desteni, which that may be and if they even really investigate it or rather start screaming stimulated by their own fears. Again assumptions from my part while the fact is still that they left my Facebook account.

Is this changing me deep within my foundations of who I really am? NO. So then I need to stop bothering about it and move on. There is no need to get possessed about such a normal daily happening affect. I friend, people unfriend and I friend others gain. Isn’t that how life goes, moving on?

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to take the act of being unfriended as something personal, instead of seeing that people can only decide upon this due to their own reactions.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to project fears into my future about my aunt, uncle and nephew who could make a fuss within my family.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to approach this event through the eyes of previous memories with these family members.

 

4 Responses to “OMG they are no longer my friend”

  1. Ann Says:

    And if you look at it, they are simply human beings like all other people. Same with my family, they often dont like what I say or share, but that is their problem. Lot’s of people love to put of a facade and ignore the truth of ourselves and this world.
    It is hard when you hang on to the memories or thoughts that you “need them”, to be a certain way, or to experience a certain thing. Like a part of you goes away. It is because we made it part of our memories and life. That is why sme mothers will keep supporting their son even when the son is a serial killer, and they would not do this with other serial killers.
    just an extreme example lol.

    When I see people defending their self intrest so much, it shows the state of this world and makes it clear why nothing has ever changed. Quite sad but it is what it is, and we gotta direct ourselves no matter what.

    • Sylvia Says:

      Yep Ann, “we gotta direct ourselves no matter what” and stop making a big fuss out of something that isn’t or isn’t worth the effort.

  2. tullepie Says:

    Cool Sylvia.
    I can imagine myself reacting similar 🙂 Though so far I haven’t experienced something like that – no family alarming etc – maybe because they are used to me being and acting ‘different’ from what is accepted as ‘normal’.
    But I do not know what they are thinking for real of course 🙂

  3. sandyjones Says:

    Yes, isn’t it rediculous. More and more I can see how so much of our world and ‘ideas’ are upsidedown! Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

